Ashtanga Yoga – Is it right for you?

Ashtanga Yoga – Is it right for you?

Ashtanga Yoga – Is it right for you?

Ashtanga Yoga is a type of yoga that was developed and founded by K. Pattabhi Jois. This type of yoga is known as the Eight Limb Yoga which has revolved around Pattanjali’s enormous idea. It presented that the path of purification is made up of eight spiritual practices. 

The first four limbs that represent Ashtanga Yoga are – yama, niyama, Asana and Pranayama.

These are considered cleansing practices which are externally correctable. The other set of limbs which are the – pratyahara, dhyana, and Dharana is the internal practice. 

These limbs can only be corrected by the proper application of the Ashtanga Yoga method. This type of yoga method is quite dangerous to the mind. 

K. Pattabhi Jois said that practicing these Eight Limbs and also its sub-limbs of the external practices which include the niyama and yama is not possible. In doing so, the body should be strong so that it can perform the practices well enough. If the body is weak, and the sense organs are not functioning well, practicing will never be useful at all. 

This is a philosophy that K. Pattabhi Jois has applied, this is important to understand so that in doing the practice, you are sure that the body will improve and keep it stronger and healthier. 

Vinaya and Tristana are practiced in Ashtanga Yoga.

The Vinyasa is a style that makes Ashtanga and its principles distinct from the others. Vinyasa means movement and breathing which is used for the internal cleansing process. Each movement is accompanied by only one breath. Sweat is the most important product of Vinyasa. When you produce sweat, it only means that you are successfully applying the practice. When you perform the Asanas, the body creates heat which causes your blood to boil and excrete the toxins outside of your body. The toxins are found in your sweat. So the more sweat you create, the more toxins are released. 

The poses are used to fully develop the strength and health of the body. The series of practices make this possible. There are three postures used in Ashtanga Yoga.

The three are classified on different levels.

The first is the Primary Series which aims on aligning the body and also detoxifying it. 

The second is the Intermediate Series opening and cleaning the energy channels which comes to the process of purifying the Nervous System.

The last series would be the Advanced Series from A to D. In this series, grace and strength are measured. 

The Tristan is another yoga principle that represents the union of the three places of action and attention. First is the posture, second is the breathing technique and last is the Drishti of the Looking Place. All these three should work together to perform a function. 

Breathing techniques are simultaneous and synchronized.

It is important to make a single breath for one movement. Ujjayi Breathing is the Yoga Breathing Technique used in the application of Ashtanga Yoga. Applying this technique must be prolonged after every practice. What you need to master is holding your pose longer at the same time holding your breath. This is an amazing breathing exercise that will increase your internal fire and will strengthen the Nervous System. 

Both Ashtanga and Tristana deal with the series of Drishti.

The Drishti is described as the point on which you gain your focus or attention while doing the Asana. This enables your mind to be purified and stabilized clearly. 

Setting the mind clear and cleansing it can only be done in the Eight-Limb Yoga or Ashtanga Yoga.

Leave a Comment